Getting rocked in Final Fantasy V

11/28/2009 at 1:59 pm | Posted in Gamer | 2 Comments
Tags: ,

I’m totally his bitch.

So I do believe I’ve reached my first real wall in FFVA. I’m facing Exdeath now in World 2, and I’m getting straight up pwned time and again. Nothing seems to be working. My team currently consists of a lv34 Bartz (Samurai), lv33 Krile (Summoner/White), lv34 Lenna (Summoner/White), and lv 34 Faris (Ninja).

Mind you, if that lineup looks funky, it’s because I have absolutely no clue what I’m doing with the job classes and skills, really. It’s been trial and error for the most part, but this seems to be the most potent combo I can manage at the moment. Against Exdeath, Bartz is dealing about 700 dmg, Faris about 1,900 (thanks to dual wield, equip swords, and one of the weapons being a twin lance which attacks twice), Krile rakes in about 1,600 with her Titan summon, and Lenna around 1,100 with that same attack.

Problem is one of the summoners (and eventually both) are relegated to healing duties because of Exdeath’s magic spams, and the physical damage dealers tend to only land about 75% of attacks or so. I tried reflect, shell, and other good stuff, but it’s only prolonging the inevitable. Reflect turned out to be a particularly a bad idea, considering it negates my own heals.

I’m guessing I just have to resort to JRPG’s time-honored tradition of grinding the hell out of my characters and level them up about 5 more levels. That might do the trick. Only thing is that I’m getting a little tired of the game, so I’m contemplating whether it’s really worth the trouble or not. I’m most likely gonna put this on the backburner for now unless a great idea suddenly strikes me (any of you wise folk got any suggestions?), and hopefully I’ll pick it up again one day with renewed vigor.

Don’t worry, ya bastards. I’ll be back for you guys later. Maybe.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. How good (and difficult) is FF 5 anyway? Haven’t played it, but the most difficult FF game I played was FF 2 (which was difficult, but not impossibly difficult, and it sounds like you’re having an impossibly difficult time). But yea, sometimes you just need that extra few more levels…no way about it.

    As for dropping FF games, I’ve already dropped FF 8 and FF 9 before. Dropped FF 8 almost immediately because it was just so shit in every possible way, and dropped FF 9 when the story started to get bit boring. I think story and characters play a big part for me, because I stuck all the way through FF 7 (hell, even replayed it) even though its gameplay was a joke (seriously, all characters are basically carbon copies of each other, which genius designed this junk?).

    • Well, up until that recent boss battle, I’ve been steamrolling through the game, so I wouldn’t say it’s been THAT difficult. I’m almost positive I just need to level up more. It’s an issue that plagues me in most RPGs, since I tend to put off level-grinding as much as possible. At least I’m hoping that’s the case, because the next most likely explanation is that I completely screwed up the job system, and that would be very, VERY hard to fix at this point. The game doesn’t offer a single tip when it comes to that aspect of gameplay, so I’ve been pretty much winging it the whole time.

      As for FFIX, I really enjoyed that game. I’m not sure where you left off, but the story seemed to click with me pretty well. Actually, it was probably more due to the endearing characters than anything else (Zidane isn’t the angsty whiner that’s so typical of PS1-era JRPGs). I always favor the cocky smartasses over brooders, anyway. =)

      And what’s the deal with my blog post? The formatting looks all funky to me (the white background forgot to tag along with the rest of the party). Meh.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

